Viper Book Review

Viper Book Cover Viper
Isles of Storm & Sorrow
Bex Hogan
Fantasy, Young Adult, Adventure > Pirates
Orion Children's Books
April 18th 2019
Paperback
400

Marianne has been training to be the Viper for her entire life - to serve and protect the King and the citizens of The Twelve Isles - but to become the Viper and protect the islands she loves she must find the strength to defeat her father. A new fantasy trilogy perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas.

He will make me a killer.
Or he will have me killed.
That is my destiny.

Seventeen-year-old Marianne is fated to one day become the Viper, defender of the Twelve Isles.

But the reigning Viper stands in her way. Corrupt and merciless, he prowls the seas in his warship, killing with impunity, leaving only pain and suffering in his wake.

He's the most dangerous man on the ocean . . . and he is Marianne's father.

She was born to protect the islands. But can she fight for them if it means losing her family, her home, the boy she loves - and perhaps even her life?

A brave heroine. An impossible dilemma. An epic new fantasy trilogy set on the high seas.

“This boat is a prison. I am my father’s captive. He will make me a killer or he will have me killed. And I have always known this.”

I was very lucky to obtain Viper by Bex Hogan from a girl on Fairyloot Buy/Trade/Sale page on Facebook. After hearing nothing but amazing things about this book, I was super excited to read it. But what I did not expect was how much I would fall in love with the story. Wow.

Viper is the type of book that you cannot put down. The writing style of Hogan is fantastic. The way she weaves the story together is nothing short of amazing. The world building is also incredible. Every area is filled to the brim with vibrant details and is so beautiful. Every island within the world feels vastly different from each other, each with its own resources and ways of living. There is so much LORE within the world. The conflicts between the East and the West islands and the loss of magic. There is so much to learn and the information will only continue to grow as the story continues. The way the story twists and turns also makes you want to continue reading and see what happens next. It’s just a fantastic story on the high seas and I AM LIVING FOR IT!

The characters within Viper are also bloody fantastic. Strong and determined characters as well as characters that you want to hate with all your heart. They all bring about various emotions and boy… they are just fantastic. Each character has it’s own flaws and personalities and I adore how nothing is fast paced with their character growth. I LOVE feeling attached to characters in stories and boy, I was HOOKED.

“What he does not comprehend is I do not wish to change.”

The story is told from the POV of Marianne. She is the daughter of the Viper, who is the captain of the King’s Fleet. He protects the Eastern Islands with an iron fist. However, he is heartless and cruel. He forces Marianne to hurt herself whenever she disobeys him and she hates him. He wants her to be a killer like him, but Marianne only wants to help and heal others. The person she once loved is now cold towards her and the girl who she considered a sister may not be trusted. With the chain around Marianne’s neck growing tighter, she knows she has to get away. After a forced binding with the Prince and an Initiation which turned into survival, she has one objective – escape.

Marianne knows that one day she must become the Viper in order to stop her father. He is not the protector the Islands needs. His destruction is brutal and he kills anyone who stands in his way. With the help of the people who are closest to her, Marianne prepares to embark on a journey that should stop her father but it may be her last trip. However, if it means peace to the islands, she is willing to give up everything in order to stop him.

“There is beauty in this world, even if I can’t reach it.”

Marianne is a beautiful character with a kind soul. All she wants to do is help people and not hurt them. She is so determined to do what is right and headstrong. The way she is treated by her crew is horrible, but the way her father cares for her is cruel. My heart broke whenever the Captain would harm her or anyone she cared for. She is a complex and super in-depth character and the way she progresses throughout Viper is nothing short of amazing.

‘People say the old magic is lost, but I say they just aren’t looking hard enough.’

The friendships and the people she meets along her path are also so wonderful. The family on the forth isle was super sweet and I loved Tomas and his kind heart. I also adore her friendship with Grace. They had such a great dynamic together and how Marianne looked up to her as a sister. What I love about Marianne is the fact she is not perfect. She struggles with keeping her composure when it comes to hurting people, and the choices she makes are not always correct. It is also incredibly moving to see how she is willing to let go of the one she truly loves. Marianne is willing to stay in an agreed marriage with Torin, the Prince of the Isles. Although at first, she is not aware why he agreed to marry her, she realizes Torin is a boy who just wants the best for the Isles. Their friendship is quite wholesome and I look forward to seeing how they progress into Venom, the next book.

It’s a complicated thing, isn’t it?’ I say ‘Love. Doesn’t play by the rules.’
Bronn is the Sully to Marianne’s Boo.

Bronn is another character who I felt so strongly for. His backstory is a heartbreaking and cruel one. At first, I hated him because of how he treated Marianne. Although once friends, he turned his back on her and became really cold towards her. But as the story progresses, we get to see the reasons behind his change and it’s sad. Marianne is not the only person that her father has manipulated. His love for Marianne is warming and how their forbidden love cannot happen. Gosh, it’s heartbreaking! I am super curious as to what will happen next with Bronn and his relationship and love for Marianne.

‘We’re warriors, Marianne. And warriors aren’t weak.’

Captain Adler, Marianne’s Father, is the cruelest character. I cannot even begin to fathom how Hogan was able to create someone who you physically want to punch. He is absolutely brutal in killing anyone who gets in his way and is horribly controlling. The way he is able to get under Marianne’s skin is simply horrendous. Simply put, he’s an asshole. He has no qualms when it comes to watching his crew hurt Marianne, and is more than willing to watch others torture her when it means he has authority.

The way he is also able to manipulate other members of his crew is just nasty. How he was able to break the bond between Marianne and Bronn by controlling Bronn was heartless. He doesn’t care about anything other than absolute power. The King is also unwilling to do anything about him. He knows about how Adler is going out and killing unlawfully but would rather protect his own back. He’s a coward and a waste of space. Unlike his son.

‘I’ve spent my whole life trying to free myself from someone who told me what to do and how to behave.’

Torin, the prince is a mysterious character who no one really knows much about. Only rumors. Safe to say, he’s a great character and only wants the best for the isles. Although his heart is set with someone else, he is willing to do what is needed to see peace for the Eastern Isles. I really enjoyed finding out more about him and I really look forward to how he progresses in the next book.

Overall, Viper is an absolute joy. A nautical tale of love, betrayal, and survival. To love is to sacrifice them to a cruel captain who has no love in his heart. The world is mysterious and with so many unanswered questions, it’s going to be tough waiting for the next book. Considering the fact Viper is Hogans DEBUT BOOK screams outstanding to me. For this to be her first book is stunning. I am in awe of it. I seriously cannot begin to think about what will happen next! An absolute MUST read!

Revenge is my mistress and I will be obedient.

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.